Skip to content

First entry- the purpose of this thing

February 2, 2012

First journal!

I am starting this journal in order to participate in thing-a-day 2012, and I figure this is a good opportunity to start journaling in earnest.  I don’t know who’s going to care, but it’s faster for me to type than to write things out.

What happened of interest today?

  • Hubby had a really nasty allergic reaction to a new medicine- he looked like a lobster from mid-chest upward, and said last night it felt like he was sleeping in a bed of fiberglass insulation.  Ugh!
  • Our little 14 month old played and talked, pointed out the “bunny” while reading Goodnight Moon,  and told his little stuffed doll to “lay down” (a phrase learned from endless uncooperative diaper changes).  He does this cute little thing when he first wakes up where he takes whatever little toy we lay him down with and hands it to me to kiss it before I pick him up out of his bed (we only started this recently, and make sure it’s something not likely to block his breathing or anything dangerous).  He loves to kiss and hug his toys.  So cute!
  • ]I made some polymer clay buttons to use as centers for fabric flower brooches, a small crocheted flower for a pin, and began a pineapple crochet scarf.
  • I made a homemade soothing “lotion” for hubby’s rash- aloe, a little honey (skin soothing properties) and vitamin C powder (supposed to have antihistamine properties).  The vitamin C broke down the gelling agents they added to the aloe, so my “lotion” became “juice” and had to be applied with a cotton ball.  Oh well, he says it made him feel better.  (disclaimer- I just look up stuff and make my best judgements, I am not an expert or a doctor, so don’t necessarily copy me, except in principle by using your own knowledge to make useful and healing stuff).
  • I made homemade baby food.  I used to find this daunting, but then I realized I can do it one small batch at a time.  This time I made oatmeal prunes, and I just cooked oatmeal with some extra water to rehydrate the prunes I put in it, then blended it.  It’s in the fridge right now, but I will portion it out in a silicone ice cube tray I have and freeze it for later use.  My son likes the taste but not the texture, so every time I put a bite in his mouth he makes this horrible face, thinks a second, decides it’s actually tasty and says “good?” as if he’s still deciding if it’s good or not.
  • I did not accomplish very much cleaning or organizing- bad girl!
Plans for tomorrow:
  • kick the kitchen’s butt
  • clean the bathrooms, do some laundry, blah de blah blah
  • post photos for today’s projects in Thing-A-Day, and make something cool for the second installment
  • eat healthy food and drink plenty of water
  • exercise
  • read my bible and remember to pray for people
  • generally be productive

So I don’t know if this blog will be of any use to anyone else.  I plan on posting things I make, food I cook if it’s noteworthy, stuff that happens, even plans and goals.  I hope to keep things succinct so as not to be boring, and include some interesting photos.  I hope I make my goals and finish Thing-a-day, for a start.  I think I’ll post a summary of what happened, what I made, what I learned or read (if anything), my plans for the next day, and maybe interesting tips and whatnot.  If it turns out to be only useful to me, oh well.

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. How do you have time to clean, create things and take care of your baby? Wow! Hope your husband is better now.

    • Ha! Other than taking care of the baby, nothing seems to ever get done 😉 I stay at home to take care of the baby, which takes most of my time, and try to learn how to clean and get everything else done around him. I count crafting as my relax time, and do it bit by bit while watching TV after the critter goes to bed.

      • Staying at home is good. When my kids were little I stayed at home. Had time to bake cookies and do crafts with them and sew. Later on, it seems I’m always on the go so time just gets away from me. Half the time we are in our cabin by the sea and travelling back and forth takes time as well as cleaning 2 places. But the view of the ocean and Inland Sea islands is beautiful. Think you’d ever visit Japan?

Leave a Reply

